Pawn shops offer excellent value when you wish to purchase a firearm. However, owning a gun is a responsibility as well as a right. So, before you purchase, take the time to read up on Kansas gun laws, and prepare to follow them. Here is a summary of five important gun laws to know before you purchase and carry:
- The “unrestricted” policy: Kansas offers unrestricted gun laws. Anyone who is 21 years of age or older and legally possesses a firearm may carry it concealed without a permit. Kansas offers permits for those taking guns across state lines. To secure this permit, you must be at least 21 years old and a resident of the county where you are applying. However, if you are crossing the line into Colorado, keep in mind that Colorado does not recognize out-of-state permits. You either need to open carry or transport the gun unloaded and in a locked case.
- Where to carry: You can concealed carry in state parks, highway rest areas, parking lots and garages, your vehicle and national forests. However, concealed carry is prohibited in K-12 schools, private and public buildings posted “no firearms,” state courthouses, racetracks and the governor’s residence. Concealed firearms are also banned in the secure areas of correctional facilities and law enforcement offices.
- Do not carry while impaired: Guns are not specifically banned from bars, but if you drink too much, you are no longer allowed to concealed carry and can face criminal charges if the weapon is found on you. The same is true if you are high on drugs. If you intend to spend a night out partying, it’s best to leave your firearm at home. That decision is safer and makes it less likely that you will face arrest.
- Notifying officers: Kansas law does not require you to disclose a concealed firearm to a law enforcement officer. However, we recommend that you carry your photo ID and permit, and keep them handy when you are carrying. If you are cooperative, an officer is less likely to feel threatened if they discover you carry a firearm. However, you may voluntarily disclose if, based on the circumstances, you feel that is the safer course of action.
- “No weapons” signs: If a private business posts a “no weapons” sign, and it is not a place where firearms are already prohibited, it is unenforceable under Kansas gun laws. A “no firearms” sign, however, is enforceable. But if an employee or business owner asks you to leave and you refuse, it is against the law and you can face arrest. Also, some restaurants may prohibit firearms in their bar areas but allow them anywhere else inside. If you encounter this situation, ask the manager before bringing your concealed firearm into a bar.
Harrison Street Pawn is pleased to carry a wide selection of firearms at our shop in Olathe, KS. Once you know what to expect with Kansas gun laws, come on by and see what we have to offer!