Obeying the gun laws in any state is crucial. While laws may change with time, knowing the latest is critical. This post discusses the basic gun ownership regulation in Kansas and how to purchase a firearm in this county.
Every American has the right to protect themselves and their families; self-defense comes in the form of firearms.
What To Know About the Basic Gun Ownership in Kansas
It’s legal to own a firearm in Kansas, but while this is so, there are also specific rules and laws regulating this right.
Standing your ground
Kansas abides by a “Stand Your Ground” rule that allows you to use deadly force if you suspect yourself or someone else may be in grave danger. The gun owner under threat and danger does not have to back down or retreat.
However, this does not mean you can use deadly force whenever you think there is a threat. It’s also reasonable to try and resolve the problem without lethal force.
Castle doctrine – Defending your “castle” home
In the “Castle doctrine,” one is allowed to defend the home you live in if you believe it to be under threat. This law gives you the right to use deadly force to protect yourself, your family, and your belongings.
CCW (Concealed Carry Weapon) Permit
The CCW permit allows the gun owner 21 years and older to carry a concealed firearm when moving around Kansas. When traveling to other states that recognize the Kansas CCW permit law, the individual can also carry a concealed firearm.
Basic gun ownership regulation in Kansas for persons under 18
Persons under 18 years must attend a firearm safety course. Alternatively, they may also participate in a hunter’s safety course. The young person must have target practice at a licensed shooting range and partake in authorized shooting competitions.
Furthermore, the gun can only be stored on a property owned and controlled by the guardian or parent of the under 18.
Here Are the Steps to Purchase a Gun in Kansas
The laws regulating local gun purchases in Kansas, which include a long-range gun or handgun are valid for adults over 18 years and older.
No permit needed
There isn’t a permit needed to own a gun in Kansas. The CCW permit is good to have when traveling. In Kansas, you can buy a gun without a background check even when you’re under 18. However, you can purchase without a background check in a used gun shop.
The federal law says only persons 21 and older can purchase a gun. However, when the gun is bought in Kansas at a pawn shop, there’s no need to be 21. You also need to provide proof of identity.
You Can’t Purchase Under the Following Circumstances
- You use unlawful substances, drugs (illicit and legal) or alcohol.
- You have been convicted of a crime in the past five years that did not involve a firearm.
- You were convicted of a crime within the past ten years with no firearm. Still, the rule applies if the crime is manslaughter, aggravated battery, burglary, kidnapping, or criminal threat.
You Can’t Take It Everywhere
You cannot have your rifle or sidearm with you in places like detention centers, courthouses, prisons, and hospitals.
Harrison Street Pawn and Gun specialize in pawn service, gun repair, and cleaning and are renowned for service excellence. If you’re looking for a pawn shop or a gun shop, you can get in touch, as there might be something there for you.