When it comes to gun rights, folks visiting Kansas might feel compelled to exclaim, “We’re not in California anymore!” It is true that compared to most other states, Kansas has some of the most freeing and nonrestrictive firearms laws you can find, but that doesn’t mean that there aren’t any restrictions when it comes to buying, owning and carrying a rifle or handgun.
At our gun store in Olathe, KS, we got a lot of questions about the different restrictions and requirements regarding gun purchasing and ownership. To clear up any confusion or misinformation out there, we’ve put together this simple guide to the most important Kansas gun laws. Read through these before you visit the gun store in Olathe, KS, and staying within legal limits will be easy:
- Purchase permits: Many states require potential gun buyers to obtain a permit before purchasing a handgun or rifle. In Kansas, no such permit is needed. However, if you wish to buy a handgun or rifle with a barrel less than 12 inches long, you do need to be at least 18 years old. If you are under 18 and wish to obtain a hunting rifle, there are a few different things you can do to gain this privilege. The two easiest ways are to receive the permission of your legal guardian, or enroll in a gun safety class.
- Carry permits: While carry permits for rifles do not exist in Kansas, they are currently required for concealed handguns. Beginning in July 2015, carry permits will no longer be required for handguns. However, they will still be issued for those who want them, and having one could help you if you are ever questioned by law enforcement.
- Magazine capacity restriction: Unlike some other states, the state of Kansas has no restrictions on how big the magazine capacity can be in any gun. When you visit your Olathe, KS gun store, you’ll find guns with all kinds of different capacities for magazines.
- Open carry: Owners of both rifles and handguns are allowed to openly carry them without open carry permits in Kansas.
- Certifying: In certain situations, purchasing or transferring ownership of a gun or other weapon requires certification by a law enforcement official. In some states, law enforcement officers are able to delay or refuse certification based on their own views. Here in Kansas, the law states that law enforcement must certify these transactions within 15 days, unless there is a legitimately lawful reason not to, such as the rifle recipient being underage or having mental health issues.
- Local laws: Here in Kansas, what you see is what you get when it comes to state gun laws and firearms restrictions. That means that no city, county or other local government within this state can amend gun laws or add firearms restrictions for their area. That means you can visit your Olathe, KS gun store and purchase a gun without fear of hidden local laws you didn’t know about. We look forward to assisting you when you visit Harrison Street Pawn and Gun!